Community Shaping the City of Tomorrow Together

Home
Munich Urban Colab Co Working Constantin Mirbach

Solutions for the city of tomorrow need exchange, new forms of collaboration and co-creation - across disciplines and industries. At the Munich Urban Colab, for the first time, established companies, start-ups, talents, scientists, the city administration and citizens are working together with joined forces to develop new concepts. This is internationally unique.

UnternehmerTUM

Unternehmer TUM Co Working
©UnternehmerTUM

UnternehmerTUM is Europe's leading center for innovation and business creation with a strong connection to the Technical University of Munich. A team of more than 400 experienced entrepreneurs, including scientists and investors, supports start-ups with business creation, market entry and financing – also with venture capital. Every year, more than 50 high-growth technology start-ups are founded here, such as Celonis, Konux, Lilium and Isar Aerospace.

All stakeholders in the Munich Urban Colab benefit from UnternehmerTUM’s start-up and technology expertise. In addition, several initiatives of UnternehmerTUM address specific topics such as mobility, construction and sustainability - for example Digital Hub Mobility, the initiative BEFIVE for the digitalization of the construction industry and Circular Republic with a focus on the circular economy.

UTUM Logo
Logo Maker Space 1
Logo digital product school
Logo Xpreneurs
Logo tech founders
Logo business creators
Logo digital hub mobility
Circular Republic Logo
Familien Unternehmer TUM Logo
Applied ai Logo
Logo befive

City of Munich

Muenchen mit dem Alpenpanorama Muenchen Tourismus Thomas Klinger
©München Tourismus, Thomas Klinger

With seven DAX-listed companies, more than 1,800 start-ups and 22 universities, colleges and academies, the City of Munich is one of the strongest growth regions in Europe - and a magnet for talents from around the world.

Major cities like Munich face particular challenges as they grow - and innovation plays a key role in providing solutions. However, they need to be sensibly integrated into an existing system, they require a political framework and they have to be accepted by the citizens. That is why the City of Munich is represented in the Munich Urban Colab with various departments and initiatives. These include the Munich City Lab of the Department of Labour and Economic Development, the Data & Innovation Team of the IT Department, the ‘Haus der Kost’ of the Department of Climate and Environmental Protection and the Mobility Lab of the SWM/MVG. All departments actively seek dialogue with the community and citizens, are contact points for companies and start-ups, provide access to decision-makers in the administration and regularly present innovative projects from the city.

The city uses the Munich Urban Colab as a driver of innovation, ensuring that smart city solutions are quickly tested and implemented.

Logo Muenchen
SWM
Rethink Muenchen HDK
Muenchen Digital Twin

Corporates

Corporates Munich Urban Colab
©Constantin Mirbach

Innovation-driven companies play a key role in solving present and future urban challenges. At the Munich Urban Colab, they have the opportunity to develop and test new ideas with their employees in an experimental environment. They benefit from the proximity and direct exchange with talents, start-ups, other companies, and the city administration. At the same time, their industry and technology expertise is indispensable for successfully leveraging the entrepreneurial and economic potential of solutions for the city of the future.

Siemens
SAP
Infineon
BMW Group
Wacker
Hoermann digital logo

Start-ups

Unternehmertum TECHFEST 2019 Unternehmer TUM Bert Willer
©Bert Willer

Technological know-how, a strong ecosystem and a young, creative environment: Munich has a lot to offer to founders. The Munich Urban Colab aims to strengthen Munich as a vibrant start-up location and attract bright minds from all over the world. The Munich Urban Colab brings together start-ups from a wide range of industries and disciplines. They are working on solutions for the healthcare of the future, developing innovative mobility concepts and pioneering revolutionary technologies such as artificial intelligence or quantum computing. While some are still in the early stages of their founding, others are already experiencing dynamic growth.

Sanvivo
Atmen
Terra Quantum
Furiosa
Devanthro
Angsa
ONVY Logo

Initiatives

20231013 NEB GENERALASSEMBLY DAY2 72 Patrik Thomas

In addition to the UnternehmerTUM programs and initiatives, many pioneering Smart City initiatives from Germany and Europe are also active in the Munich Urban Colab. They are working together to create a sustainable and livable city of the future and offer a wide range of opportunities to get involved and network. EIT Urban Mobility, EIT InnoEnergy and the project "Creating NEBourhoods Together" are just a few of those initiatives located in the Munich Urban Colab that have an impact throughout Europe.

EIT Urban Mobility EU
EIT Inno Energy Logo
Tueftel Lab Logo
Re Di School Logo

Universities, Colleges & Science

LMU Universitaet Muenchen Brunnen 1 Muenchen Tourismus Andreas Hedderegott

With 22 universities, colleges and academies, Munich is Germany's second-largest university location - many talented people from all over the world come to the Bavarian metropolis to study, research or start their own businesses. The close connection of the Munich Urban Colab with the Technical University of Munich, the Ludwig Maximilians University and the Munich University of Applied Sciences open up exciting opportunities for collaboration and are a great enrichment for the field of Smart City solutions. With Manage and More, START Munich, 180 Degrees Consulting Munich and Enactus Munich, the Munich Urban Colab is also home to four strong student initiatives that are driving forward new ideas for a liveable urban future.

TUM
Hochschule Muenchen 2
LMU Muenchen Logo
TUM International Logo
TUM Venture Labs Logo
Manage And More Logo Web color pos 1
START Munich Logo
Enactus Logo

Investoren

Ultimate Demo Day 2022 2
©Bert Willer

UnternehmerTUM's venture capital firm UVC Partners has its own branch in the Munich Urban Colab. The high-performance fund has 386 million euros in assets under management and its portfolio includes companies such as Reverion, Lilium, Aleph Alpha and Flix. Other leading global venture capital firms such as General Atlantic, Lakestar and BMW iVentures bring their expertise and excellent network into the ecosystem.

UVC Partners Logo
General Atlantic Logo
Lakestar Logo
BMW i Ventures Bitmap

Community Die Stadt der Zukunft gemeinsam gestalten

Startseite
Munich Urban Colab Co Working Constantin Mirbach

Lösungen für die Stadt der Zukunft brauchen Austausch, neue Formen der Zusammenarbeit und Co-Creation – interdisziplinär und branchenübergreifend. Im Munich Urban Colab arbeiten erstmalig etablierte Unternehmen, Start-ups, Talente, die Wissenschaft, die Stadtverwaltung und Bürgerinnen und Bürgern unter einem Dach gemeinsam an neuen Konzepten. Das ist international einzigartig.

UnternehmerTUM

Unternehmer TUM Co Working
©UnternehmerTUM/Constantin Mierbach

UnternehmerTUM ist Europas führendes Zentrum für Innovation und Gründung mit direkter Anbindung an die Technische Universität München. Ein Team aus über 400 Mitarbeitenden unterstützt beim Aufbau des Unternehmens, beim Markteintritt und bei der Finanzierung – auch mit Venture Capital. Jährlich entstehen hier über 50 wachstumsstarke Technologie-Start-ups wie Celonis, Konux, Lilium und Isar Aerospace.

Von dieser Gründungs- und Technologie-Expertise profitieren alle Akteure im Munich Urban Colab. Mehrere Initiativen von UnternehmerTUM nehmen darüber hinaus ganz konkret Themen wie Mobilität, Bauen und Nachhaltigkeit in Angriff – wie z.B. Digital Hub Mobility, die Initiative zur Digitalisierung der Bauindustrie BEFIVE und Circular Republic mit dem Schwerpunkt Kreislaufwirtschaft.

UTUM Logo
Logo Maker Space 1
Logo digital product school
Logo Xpreneurs
Logo tech founders
Logo business creators
Logo digital hub mobility
Circular Republic Logo
Familien Unternehmer TUM Logo
Applied ai Logo
Logo befive

Landeshauptstadt München

Muenchen mit dem Alpenpanorama Muenchen Tourismus Thomas Klinger
©München Tourismus, Thomas Klinger

Die Landeshauptstadt München ist mit sieben DAX-Konzernen, über 1.800 Start-ups und 22 Universitäten, Hochschulen und Akademien eine der stärksten Wachstumsregionen Europas – und Anziehungsort für Talente aus aller Welt.

Großstädte wie München stehen durch ihr Wachstum vor besonderen Herausforderungen – Innovationen leisten hier einen wesentlichen Lösungsbeitrag. Die Landeshauptstadt München will das Leben in der pulsierenden Metropole für alle wertvoll gestalten. Dabei setzt die Stadtverwaltung auf Kooperation und investiert in das Munich Urban Colab als gemeinsame Plattform für urbane Lösungen.

Im Munich Urban Colab ist die Landeshauptstadt daher mit verschiedenen Referaten und Initiativen präsent. Zum Beispiel mit dem Munich City Lab, das vom Referat für Arbeit und Wirtschaft koordiniert wird und Zugangstor für alle städtischen Mitarbeitenden in das Munich Urban Colab ist. Darüber hinaus sind unter anderem das Data & Innovation Team und die WerkSTADT digitales München des IT-Referats, das Haus der Kost des Referats für Klima- und Umweltschutz, das Team Digitaler Zwilling des GeodatenService im Kommunalreferat sowie das Mobilitätslabor der Beteiligungsgesellschaften SWM/MVG vertreten.

Alle Referate nutzen das Munich Urban Colab als Innovationstreiber und sorgen so dafür, dass Smart City Lösungen schnell getestet werden und in die Umsetzung kommen. Zukunftsweisende Projekte aus der Stadt werden regelmäßig der Community und interessierten Bürgerinnen und Bürgern vorgestellt.

Logo Muenchen
SWM
Rethink Muenchen HDK
Muenchen Digital Twin

Unternehmen

Corporates Munich Urban Colab BEFIVE
©BEFIVE

Unternehmen mit Innovationskraft nehmen bei der Lösung urbaner Herausforderungen eine Schlüsselrolle ein. Im Munich Urban Colab haben sie die Möglichkeit, mit ihren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern in einem experimentellen Umfeld neue Ideen zu entwickeln und zu erproben. Sie profitieren von der Nähe und dem unmittelbaren Austausch mit Talenten, Start-ups, anderen Unternehmen und der Stadtverwaltung. Gleichzeitig ist ihre Branchen- und Technologieexpertise unabdingbar, um das unternehmerische und wirtschaftliche Potenzial der Lösungen für die Stadt der Zukunft erfolgreich zu heben.

Siemens
SAP
Infineon
BMW Group
Wacker
Hoermann digital logo

Start-ups

Unternehmertum TECHFEST 2019 Unternehmer TUM Bert Willer
©UnternehmerTUM/Bert Willer

Technologisches Know-how, ein starkes Ökosystem und ein junges, kreatives Umfeld: München bietet eine Menge für Gründerinnen und Gründer. Mit dem Munich Urban Colab soll der lebendige Start-up-Standort München gestärkt und kluge Köpfe aus aller Welt angezogen werden. Start-ups aus den unterschiedlichen Branchen und Disziplinen sind im Munich Urban Colab vertreten. Sie arbeiten an Lösungen für die Pflege der Zukunft, entwickeln innovative Mobilitätskonzepte und leisten Pionierarbeit in revolutionären Technologien wie Künstlicher Intelligenz oder Quantencomputing. Während sich einige noch in den frühen Gründungsphasen befinden, erleben andere bereits ein dynamisches Wachstum.

Sanvivo
Atmen
Terra Quantum
Furiosa
Devanthro
Angsa
ONVY Logo

Initiativen

Digital Hub Mobility Initiative

Neben den Initiativen von UnternehmerTUM sind im Munich Urban Colab viele wegweisende Smart City-Initiativen aus Deutschland und Europa aktiv. Auch sie arbeiten mit vereinten Kräften an einer nachhaltigen und lebenswerten Stadt der Zukunft und bieten vielfältige Möglichkeiten, sich einzubringen und zu vernetzen. EIT Urban Mobility, EIT InnoEnergy, MCube - Munich Cluster for the future of Mobility in Metropolitan Regions und das Leuchtturmprojekt „Creating NEBourhoods Together“ sind nur einige der Initiativen, die Strahlkraft in ganz Europa haben und im Munich Urban Colab angesiedelt sind.

EIT Inno Energy Logo
M Cube Logo
Tueftel Lab Logo
Re Di School Logo
EIT Urban Mobility EU

Universitäten, Hochschulen & Wissenschaft

LMU Universitaet Muenchen Brunnen 1 Muenchen Tourismus Andreas Hedderegott
©München Tourismus, Andreas Heddergott

Mit 22 Universitäten, Hochschulen und Akademien ist München Deutschlands zweitgrößter Hochschulstandort – viele Talente aus der ganzen Welt kommen in die bayerische Metropole, um zu studieren, zu forschen oder selbst zu gründen. Die enge Vernetzung des Munich Urban Colab mit der Technischen Universität München, der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universtität und der Hochschule München eröffnet spannende Möglichkeiten in der Zusammenarbeit und stellt für das Thema Smart City eine große Bereicherung dar. Außerdem sind mit Manage and More, START Munich, 180 Degrees Consulting Munich und Enactus München vier starke studentische Initiativen im Munich Urban Colab vertreten, die frische Ideen für eine lebenswerte urbane Zukunft vorantreiben.

TUM
Hochschule Muenchen 2023
LMU Muenchen Logo
TUM International Logo
TUM Venture Labs Logo
Logo Manage and More
START Munich Logo
Enactus Logo

Investoren

Ultimate Demo Day 2022 2
©Bert Willer

Die Venture Capital-Gesellschaft UVC Partners von UnternehmerTUM hat eine eigenen Dependance im Munich Urban Colab. Der leistungsstarke Fonds umfasst 386 Millionen Euro Verwaltungsvolumen und zählt Unternehmen wie Reverion, Lilium, Aleph Alpha und Flix Mobility zu seinem Portfolio. Weitere führende globale Venture Capital-Gesellschaften wie General Atlantic, Lakestar oder BMW iVentures bringen zusätzlich ihre Expertise und ihr hervorragendes Netzwerk im Ökosystem ein.

UVC Partners Logo
General Atlantic Logo
Lakestar Logo
BMW i Ventures Bitmap